Anishinabek Evening of Excellence

Click links for additional info:   Documents    Photos    Contacts  

Anishinabek Nation celebrates Lifetime Achievements

On the evening of Wednesday, August 16, 2017 the Anishinabek Nation 7th Generation Charity (AN7GC) hosted the 19th annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence. The event took place on Chippewas of Rama First Nation Territory at Casino Rama.

Each year, the AN7GC coordinates this important event to honour, celebrate, and present Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards to outstanding Anishinabek citizens. People who’ve made a lifelong commitment to improving the quality of life on First Nations through hard work and dedication, in the categories of Arts, Business, Culture, Education, Environment, Law/Justice, Political Leadership, Public Service, Communications, Sports, and Trades & Technology.

In addition to honouring these wonderful individuals the AN7GC presents scholarships to outstanding Anishinaabe post-secondary students.

Over 200 people enjoyed a wonderful evening celebrating with 4 student scholarship recipients as well as 14 proud Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. In additional to the award presentations, the evening consisted of a delightful dinner and entertainment by 22-year-old Jordan Mowat of Alderville First Nation.

This year’s Anishinabek Student Excellence Scholarship recipients included:

Bailey “Ziigwen” Mixemong—Beausoleil First Nation
Kieran Peltier—Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve
Miranda Plain—Aamjiwnaang First Nation
Tonya-Leah Watts— Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve

The 2017 Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Award recipients included:

Stanley Benoit—Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation
Irene Helen Castonguay—Whitefish River First Nation
The Late Marcia L. Cooper—Munsee-Delaware Nation
Judy Corbiere—Aundeck Omni Kaning
Sophie Corbiere—M’Chigeeng First Nation
The Late Dianna “Ruth” Couchie—Nipissing First Nation
Pamela Crowe—Alderville First Nation
The Late John M. Debassige—M’Chigeeng First Nation
James R. Marsden—Alderville First Nation
Esther Osche—Whitefish River First Nation
The Late Merle Pegahmagabow—Wasauksing First Nation
Georgina Recollet—Whitefish River First Nation
Murray Shawnoo Jr.—Kettle & Stony Point First Nation
Alvin Wolfe—Kettle & Stony Point First Nation


The Anishinabek Evening of Excellence would not be possible without the financial contributions of devoted and generous sponsors. Their contributions are truly the foundation of this event. Chi-Miigwetch to Scotiabank, Casino Rama Resort, Union Gas, Ontario Power Generation, Westmont Hospitality Group, Hydro One, Quattro Hotel Sault Ste. Marie, Holiday Inn Sudbury, and Delta Sault Ste. Marie!

The AN7GC is thrilled at the success of this year’s event and is already looking forward to hosting a very special 20th annual Anishinabek Evening of Excellence in 2018!


How it all started and what it's all about...

The Anishinabek Evening of Excellence began as the Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards in 1999.
At that time, the goal of the event was to bring awareness to our Anishinabek Nation citizens who have succeeded in various professional endeavors. The idea was to recognize those individuals who have taken us from reservations to First Nations. People who have made a lifetime commitment to improving the quality of life on First Nations through volunteerism, political service, language preservation, health services, social services, personal achievement, cultural practice, and those who are survivors of residential school or who served in the military.
Our Evening of Excellence brings together close to 300 people annually to recognize deserving Anishinabek citizens who are presented with Anishinabek Lifetime Achievement Awards. We recognize these people as ‘building blocks’ to improving the lives of Anishinabek citizens and the Anishinabek Nation as a whole.
The event also recognizes the academic achievements of Anishinaabe youth. In 2005, a new component of the Evening of Excellence was introduced. Through a partnership with Scotiabank, the AN7GC was able to introduce the Scotiabank Student Excellence Awards. Each year four to five Anishinaabe students are selected for their post-secondary academic excellence by a panel of Education Counselors. Each student receives an all expense paid invitation to the event where they are presented with a Scotiabank Student Excellence Scholarship.
During 2007 one of the AN7GC’s corporate friends passed away from cancer. Ian Thomson had become a good friend of the charity over the years and continued to support the Lifetime Achievement Awards each year. In his memory the AN7GC created the ‘Thomson Award’. This award is presented to a person, corporation or foundation that demonstrates loyalty and continued support of the AN7GC.
In 2008, George Lanouette passed to the spirit world and in his memory we created the George Lanouette Memorial Award. George Lanouette was the first Chief Administrative Officer of the Union of Ontario Indians (UOI). He was instumental in the development of the UOI;  right from the administrative aspects to the establishment of the UOI Head Office on Nipissing First Nation. His work encompasses the key attributes that lead to successful “community development”. That is what the UOI represents to this day; the unity of community for the overall benefit of our citizens; the Anishinabek citizens. This is what the recipient of the George Lanouette Memorial Award exemplifies; a leader in Community Development.

The Anishinabek Evening of Excellence - Lifetime Achievement Awards event wouldn’t be possible without the generous financial contributions of our sponsors and supporters. We continue to welcome corporate sponsors to be a part of our night of recognition. Please contact us for information on becoming a sponsor of our event.



2018 Lifetime Achievement Award Nomination Form
File: LAANominationForm2018.pdf

Past Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients
File: LAARecipients99-17.pdf

2018 Scholarship Application Information
File: 2018AEEScholarshipInformation.jpg



For additional information about Anishinabek Evening of Excellence or any information regarding the content of this page, please contact:

Restoule, Jason


No duplication is permitted of this site graphically or conceptually unless requested and approved in writing.
All Rights Reserved Worldwide. Copyright © 2011 AN7GC and Northshore Developments.
For technical issues regarding this site please contact the site developers: Northshore Developments